1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

login mode changes after trojan removed

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Michael D. Berger, May 11, 2010.

  1. Michael D. Berger

    Michael D. Berger Flightless Bird

    On two of my WinXP boxes, ZoneAlarm found and deleted
    "Win32.Worm.Socks.BW". Thereafter, the login mode
    reverted to the classic where you have to type in your
    username and password. I tried resetting the checks
    (which were already properly set) at:

    Control Panel -> User Accounts -> Chenge the way
    users log on or off

    and it didn't help.

    Thanks for your help.

    Mike.
     
  2. Michael D. Berger

    Michael D. Berger Flightless Bird

    On Tue, 11 May 2010 23:19:37 +0000, Michael D. Berger wrote:

    > On two of my WinXP boxes, ZoneAlarm found and deleted
    > "Win32.Worm.Socks.BW". Thereafter, the login mode reverted to the
    > classic where you have to type in your username and password. I tried
    > resetting the checks (which were already properly set) at:
    >
    > Control Panel -> User Accounts -> Chenge the way users log on or off
    >
    > and it didn't help.
    >
    > Thanks for your help.
    >
    > Mike.


    I read that this may be a false positive in ZoneAlarm,
    and than C:/WINDOWS\system32\logonui.exe may have been
    deleted. However, on at least one of the boxes, that
    file is present and its properties indicate that it
    was modified in 2008.
     

Share This Page