1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Change how account name appears in Windows Explorer

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Smirnoff, May 8, 2010.

  1. Smirnoff

    Smirnoff Flightless Bird

    XP Pro, SP3

    Some time ago I used a Dell recovery disk to reinstall XP as I was unable to
    access the recovery partition.

    As far as I remember, I only entered:

    Computer Description: Username's Computer

    Full Computer Name: Home

    Workgroup: Workgroup

    Although the machine is working OK, it has bugged me that when I open Win
    Explorer I am presented with the following when viewing Documents and
    Settings:

    C:/Documents and Settings\(Username).HOME-25XXXXXXXX\My Documents

    The HOME-25XXXXXXXX reference is that of an old BT Hub (I have used two
    others since) and is also added to the Administrator account.

    Have tried renaming but am told that it is a system file and cannot be
    renamed or moved.

    My username account (with administrator rights) is just a single name.

    What did I do wrong and can I correct it without having to reinstall again?
     
  2. proteanthread

    proteanthread Flightless Bird

    On May 8, 4:31 am, "Smirnoff" <some...@nospam.invalid> wrote:
    > XP Pro, SP3
    >
    > Some time ago I used a Dell recovery disk to reinstall XP as I was unableto
    > access the recovery partition.
    >
    > As far as I remember, I only entered:
    >
    > Computer Description: Username's Computer
    >
    > Full Computer Name: Home
    >
    > Workgroup: Workgroup
    >
    > Although the machine is working OK, it has bugged me that when I open Win
    > Explorer I am presented with the following when viewing Documents and
    > Settings:
    >
    > C:/Documents and Settings\(Username).HOME-25XXXXXXXX\My Documents
    >
    > The HOME-25XXXXXXXX reference is that of an old BT Hub (I have used two
    > others since) and is also added to the Administrator account.
    >
    > Have tried renaming but am told that it is a system file and cannot be
    > renamed or moved.
    >
    > My username account (with administrator rights) is just a single name.
    >
    > What did I do wrong and can I correct it without having to reinstall again?




    You didn't do a pure clean install, did you? (meaning, you didn't
    format the hard drive first)
     
  3. Smirnoff

    Smirnoff Flightless Bird

    "proteanthread" <rtdos@rtdos.com> wrote in message
    news:3bba3378-8c0f-4c99-91dd-d7c6de109031@b18g2000yqb.googlegroups.com...
    > On May 8, 4:31 am, "Smirnoff" <some...@nospam.invalid> wrote:
    >> XP Pro, SP3
    >>
    >> Some time ago I used a Dell recovery disk to reinstall XP as I was unable
    >> to
    >> access the recovery partition.
    >>
    >> As far as I remember, I only entered:
    >>
    >> Computer Description: Username's Computer
    >>
    >> Full Computer Name: Home
    >>
    >> Workgroup: Workgroup
    >>
    >> Although the machine is working OK, it has bugged me that when I open Win
    >> Explorer I am presented with the following when viewing Documents and
    >> Settings:
    >>
    >> C:/Documents and Settings\(Username).HOME-25XXXXXXXX\My Documents
    >>
    >> The HOME-25XXXXXXXX reference is that of an old BT Hub (I have used two
    >> others since) and is also added to the Administrator account.
    >>
    >> Have tried renaming but am told that it is a system file and cannot be
    >> renamed or moved.
    >>
    >> My username account (with administrator rights) is just a single name.
    >>
    >> What did I do wrong and can I correct it without having to reinstall
    >> again?

    >
    >
    >
    > You didn't do a pure clean install, did you? (meaning, you didn't
    > format the hard drive first)


    As I recall, I couldn't access the computer. It was badly infected, that's
    why I needed the reinstallation disk.

    Suppose I should have formatted the disk after initial reinstallation and
    then repeated the operation.

    Have now copied user profile to new account and deleted the old one.
     

Share This Page