1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XP confirm to open downloaded file

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by FM, Jun 9, 2010.

  1. FM

    FM Flightless Bird

    Using XP sp3 Pro. When I download any file, for instance, a jpg/jpeg/gif
    image, when I try to open that image I get the open file security warning
    'Do you want to open this file?'. There is a checkbox (Always ask before
    opening this file) and regardless of whether it is ticked or not I still get
    the open file confirmation dialogue showing itself everytime I download any
    file and try to open it. Now how can I stop this confirmation. Everytime I
    download an image and open it I have to untick this confirmation dialogue.
    In Folder Options>File Types tab>Jpg and jpeg extensions>advanced
    button...the confirm open after download is unchecked, so why do I still get
    the open file security dialogue everytime I want to open a newly downloaded
    file/image. I appreciate the value of this default for say an exe extension
    but is there some setting I can do get rid of this confirmation for certain
    file types?

    Regards
    FM
     
  2. John John - MVP

    John John - MVP Flightless Bird

    FM wrote:
    > Using XP sp3 Pro. When I download any file, for instance, a jpg/jpeg/gif
    > image, when I try to open that image I get the open file security warning
    > 'Do you want to open this file?'. There is a checkbox (Always ask before
    > opening this file) and regardless of whether it is ticked or not I still get
    > the open file confirmation dialogue showing itself everytime I download any
    > file and try to open it. Now how can I stop this confirmation. Everytime I
    > download an image and open it I have to untick this confirmation dialogue.
    > In Folder Options>File Types tab>Jpg and jpeg extensions>advanced
    > button...the confirm open after download is unchecked, so why do I still get
    > the open file security dialogue everytime I want to open a newly downloaded
    > file/image. I appreciate the value of this default for say an exe extension
    > but is there some setting I can do get rid of this confirmation for certain
    > file types?



    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/883260
    Description of how the Attachment Manager works in Windows XP Service Pack 2

    John
     
  3. ju.c

    ju.c Flightless Bird

    The "Open File - Security Warning" Message (Unblock)


    Description of the Attachment Manager
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/883260

    The Attachment Manager classifies files that you receive or that you
    download based on the file type and the file name extension. Attachment
    Manager classifies files types as high risk, medium risk, and low risk.
    When you save files to your hard disk from a program that uses the
    Attachment Manager, the Web content zone information for the file is
    also saved with the file. For example, if you save a compressed file
    (.zip) that is attached to an e-mail message to your hard disk, the Web
    content zone information is also saved when you save the compressed file.
    When you try to extract the contents from the compressed file, or if you
    try to run a file, you cannot. The Web content zone information is saved
    together with the files only if the hard disk uses the NTFS file system.
    You can open a blocked file from a known source if you want to.


    (1) Unblocking a file:

    1. Right-click the blocked file, and then click Properties.
    2. In the General tab, click Unblock.


    (2) Removing the blocking data:

    Move the file to a non NTFS drive (FAT, Linux, CD/DVD, US8). The
    blocking data will be lost on copy because it's only used by the
    NTFS file system. Just move it then move it back.


    (3) Disable the security warning when opening files:

    1. Copy below and paste into Notepad.

    ----------copy inside only----------
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Download]
    "CheckExeSignatures"="no"
    "RunInvalidSignatures"=dword:00000001

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Attachments]
    "SaveZoneInformation"=dword:00000001

    ----------copy inside only----------

    2. Save-as IE_Unblock.reg (or any name + .reg)

    3. Double-click or right-click and merge into the registry.


    (4) Add the site to Internet Explorer's 'Trusted Zone'.


    (5) Using Group Policy:

    Open the 'Group Policy Editor' and go to 'User Configuration-->
    Administrative Templates-->Windows Components-->Attachment Manager'
    and set the option, "Inclusion list for moderate file types" to
    "Enabled" and add the file extensions not to block.


    (6) Mark of the Web (MOTW)

    Local Machine Lockdown and Cross Domain Protection prohibits objects
    from being opened in the browser from direct links to the objects unless
    Local Machine Lockdown is enabled on the machine.

    Using the MOTW will remove the warning about Active Content running in HTML
    files on the local machine, but Local Machine Lockdown must be enabled at
    the same time in order for links to work.

    1. Use MOTW in all HTML files.

    <!doctype>
    <!-- saved from url:-(0014)about:internet -->
    <HTML>

    2. Ensure Local Machine Lockdown is enabled.

    'Tools-->Internet Options-->Advanced-->Security'
    Uncheck "Allow active content to run in files on My Computer".


    ju.c


    "FM" <spam@uce.gov> wrote in message news:ek980p8BLHA.5848@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl...
    > Using XP sp3 Pro. When I download any file, for instance, a jpg/jpeg/gif
    > image, when I try to open that image I get the open file security warning
    > 'Do you want to open this file?'. There is a checkbox (Always ask before
    > opening this file) and regardless of whether it is ticked or not I still get
    > the open file confirmation dialogue showing itself everytime I download any
    > file and try to open it. Now how can I stop this confirmation. Everytime I
    > download an image and open it I have to untick this confirmation dialogue.
    > In Folder Options>File Types tab>Jpg and jpeg extensions>advanced
    > button...the confirm open after download is unchecked, so why do I still get
    > the open file security dialogue everytime I want to open a newly downloaded
    > file/image. I appreciate the value of this default for say an exe extension
    > but is there some setting I can do get rid of this confirmation for certain
    > file types?
    >
    > Regards
    > FM
    >
    >
     
  4. Eddie

    Eddie Flightless Bird

    John John - MVP wrote:
    > FM wrote:
    >> Using XP sp3 Pro. When I download any file, for instance, a
    >> jpg/jpeg/gif image, when I try to open that image I get the open file
    >> security warning 'Do you want to open this file?'. There is a checkbox
    >> (Always ask before opening this file) and regardless of whether it is
    >> ticked or not I still get the open file confirmation dialogue showing
    >> itself everytime I download any file and try to open it. Now how can I
    >> stop this confirmation. Everytime I download an image and open it I
    >> have to untick this confirmation dialogue. In Folder Options>File
    >> Types tab>Jpg and jpeg extensions>advanced button...the confirm open
    >> after download is unchecked, so why do I still get the open file
    >> security dialogue everytime I want to open a newly downloaded
    >> file/image. I appreciate the value of this default for say an exe
    >> extension but is there some setting I can do get rid of this
    >> confirmation for certain file types?




    When you d/load the file(s), do you save them to a folder(s)? If so,
    why not use 'Irfanview' or 'acdsee' to open the images with;; they are
    both free and give a huge variety of tools with which to
    edit/enhance/crop and etc. (you wont get any nag boxes either)

    Ed
     

Share This Page