1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Welcome Windows

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Drora, Mar 2, 2010.

  1. Drora

    Drora Flightless Bird

    Hello to all

    I run XP PRO and I am a one man at this machine. I never needed any password
    or having to choose between users.

    The machine will open directly into the main screen and I start to work. But
    windows changed it mind.....

    At start:
    On starting the machine gives me a windows to select between users. And this
    is the least of it.
    On closing:
    It used to give me a nice three part picture with "Hybernate or Shut down
    or Restart" This picture is gone and instaed I get a small window with MS
    logo and a roller that I have to roll down and select what I want. Trouble
    is that I can't see all this very well.

    Can anyone help me restore to the good old style I had before?
     
  2. Chet

    Chet Flightless Bird

    On 3/2/2010 5:21 PM, Drora wrote:
    > Hello to all
    >
    > I run XP PRO and I am a one man at this machine. I never needed any password
    > or having to choose between users.
    >
    > The machine will open directly into the main screen and I start to work. But
    > windows changed it mind.....
    >
    > At start:
    > On starting the machine gives me a windows to select between users. And this
    > is the least of it.
    > On closing:
    > It used to give me a nice three part picture with "Hybernate or Shut down
    > or Restart" This picture is gone and instaed I get a small window with MS
    > logo and a roller that I have to roll down and select what I want. Trouble
    > is that I can't see all this very well.
    >
    > Can anyone help me restore to the good old style I had before?
    >
    >


    Try this:
    From the Control Panel select User Accounts. Then select Change the way
    users log on or off. If the Use Welcome screen is checked, remove the
    check and Apply Options.

    hth
    --
    Chet <chesterefSPAM@NOThotmail.com>
     
  3. Drora

    Drora Flightless Bird

    Hello Chet
    Thanks for the reply, I went to the location you mentioned but no joy
    unfortunately.
    I have unmarked the "Offline" and the "Hybernate" choices in case they are
    the reasons but apparently they are not.
    ------------------------------------------------


    "Chet" <chesterefSPAM@NOThotmail.com> wrote in message
    news:ubhqX3nuKHA.5812@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
    > On 3/2/2010 5:21 PM, Drora wrote:
    >> Hello to all
    >>
    >> I run XP PRO and I am a one man at this machine. I never needed any
    >> password
    >> or having to choose between users.
    >>
    >> The machine will open directly into the main screen and I start to work.
    >> But
    >> windows changed it mind.....
    >>
    >> At start:
    >> On starting the machine gives me a windows to select between users. And
    >> this
    >> is the least of it.
    >> On closing:
    >> It used to give me a nice three part picture with "Hybernate or Shut
    >> down
    >> or Restart" This picture is gone and instaed I get a small window with MS
    >> logo and a roller that I have to roll down and select what I want.
    >> Trouble
    >> is that I can't see all this very well.
    >>
    >> Can anyone help me restore to the good old style I had before?
    >>
    >>

    >
    > Try this:
    > From the Control Panel select User Accounts. Then select Change the way
    > users log on or off. If the Use Welcome screen is checked, remove the
    > check and Apply Options.
    >
    > hth
    > --
    > Chet <chesterefSPAM@NOThotmail.com>
     
  4. Rey Santos

    Rey Santos Flightless Bird

    Click Start > Run and type: control userpasswords2 > OK
    The User Accounts Property Sheet displays.
    On Users tab, clear the "Users must enter a user name and password to use
    this computer" check box.
    Click Apply.

    Go to Control Panel > User Accounts > Change the Way Users Log On and Off.
    Uncheck "Use the Welcome Screen" and "Use Fast User Switching".

    Control Panel > User Accounts > Advanced tab > Uncheck "require users to
    press Ctrl+Alt+Delete.

    --
    Rey


    "Drora" wrote:

    > Hello to all
    >
    > I run XP PRO and I am a one man at this machine. I never needed any password
    > or having to choose between users.
    >
    > The machine will open directly into the main screen and I start to work. But
    > windows changed it mind.....
    >
    > At start:
    > On starting the machine gives me a windows to select between users. And this
    > is the least of it.
    > On closing:
    > It used to give me a nice three part picture with "Hybernate or Shut down
    > or Restart" This picture is gone and instaed I get a small window with MS
    > logo and a roller that I have to roll down and select what I want. Trouble
    > is that I can't see all this very well.
    >
    > Can anyone help me restore to the good old style I had before?
    >
    >
    > .
    >
     

Share This Page