1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

'Save as' and 'Run' installer files

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Summer1, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. Summer1

    Summer1 Flightless Bird

    Hi Everyone:

    1. When I am given the option for a file to 'save as' or 'run,' I should
    always choose to 'save as' in my desktop since it will download faster and so
    I can check for viruses before running it-Correct?

    2. If I 'do' choose to 'run' it, does it 'save' the file or does it just'
    run' it one time and I will have to 'save as' the next time I want to view
    the file?

    3. If I do select 'save as' an installer file and then 'delete' the desktop
    file, is the file still installed? In other words, do I 'need' to keep the
    file since it has installed itself?

    Thanks!
     
  2. LVTravel

    LVTravel Flightless Bird

    "Summer1" <Summer1@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
    news:6C07F85D-16BA-4354-8949-7DBC21BEE1CD@microsoft.com...
    > Hi Everyone:
    >
    > 1. When I am given the option for a file to 'save as' or 'run,' I should
    > always choose to 'save as' in my desktop since it will download faster and
    > so
    > I can check for viruses before running it-Correct?
    >
    > 2. If I 'do' choose to 'run' it, does it 'save' the file or does it just'
    > run' it one time and I will have to 'save as' the next time I want to view
    > the file?
    >
    > 3. If I do select 'save as' an installer file and then 'delete' the
    > desktop
    > file, is the file still installed? In other words, do I 'need' to keep the
    > file since it has installed itself?
    >
    > Thanks!


    1. Yes to save to the computer to ensure it is malware free by specifically
    scanning the file (unless from a reputable source.)
    2. Copies the installation files to a temporary folder and are generally
    deleted after the installation program has completed saving the pertinent
    files to the correct locations so that the installed program will run.
    3. Once a program is installed you can safely delete the install .exe
    file as it won't be used anymore for that program. You should, however,
    keep it on some type of removable device (CD/DVD, External Hard Drive, Thumb
    drive) in case you ever want to install the program again. One of the most
    common issues posted on some of the Microsoft sites is how to get back one
    of the Office downloaded files that he poster has not saved.
     
  3. Summer1

    Summer1 Flightless Bird

    In my situation, I downloaded an 'installer.exe' file without a program
    attached and chose 'save as' and saved it under my desktop. The program
    itself is on the website not my computer.

    Once it 'installed,' it did not create a new directory nor install any
    icons. It was a 'certificate' update on a websiteI use

    Since I 'deleted' the installer file and there is 'no' program attached,
    does that mean that I will have to install it again the next time I visit the
    website or will that website 'recognize' that it 'was' installed?

    Thanks!

    > 3. Once a program is installed you can safely delete the install .exe
    > file as it won't be used anymore for that program. You should, however,
    > keep it on some type of removable device (CD/DVD, External Hard Drive, Thumb
    > drive) in case you ever want to install the program again. One of the most
    > common issues posted on some of the Microsoft sites is how to get back one
    > of the Office downloaded files that he poster has not saved.
    >
    > .
    >
     
  4. LVTravel

    LVTravel Flightless Bird

    "Summer1" <Summer1@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
    news:61C12241-2123-4113-B7C3-1F7F0A71E843@microsoft.com...
    >
    > In my situation, I downloaded an 'installer.exe' file without a program
    > attached and chose 'save as' and saved it under my desktop. The program
    > itself is on the website not my computer.
    >
    > Once it 'installed,' it did not create a new directory nor install any
    > icons. It was a 'certificate' update on a websiteI use
    >
    > Since I 'deleted' the installer file and there is 'no' program attached,
    > does that mean that I will have to install it again the next time I visit
    > the
    > website or will that website 'recognize' that it 'was' installed?
    >
    > Thanks!
    >
    >> 3. Once a program is installed you can safely delete the install .exe
    >> file as it won't be used anymore for that program. You should, however,
    >> keep it on some type of removable device (CD/DVD, External Hard Drive,
    >> Thumb
    >> drive) in case you ever want to install the program again. One of the
    >> most
    >> common issues posted on some of the Microsoft sites is how to get back
    >> one
    >> of the Office downloaded files that he poster has not saved.
    >>
    >> .
    >>


    If you saved it to the desktop and did not run the installer.exe file the
    installer program can not and did not download the actual program package
    from the internet. If in fact you ran the installer program then it
    installed something somewhere on the computer to tell the website that it
    was installed similar to a cookie and you should not have to re-download the
    installer again. Just out of curiosity, what web site is this (provide url
    please?)
     
  5. Summer1

    Summer1 Flightless Bird

    That's exactly what I wanted to know-A cookie was obviously saved!

    I ran the installer program and it did not ask me to install again when I
    returned to the website.

    "LVTravel" wrote:

    >
    >
    > "Summer1" <Summer1@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
    > news:61C12241-2123-4113-B7C3-1F7F0A71E843@microsoft.com...
    > >
    > > In my situation, I downloaded an 'installer.exe' file without a program
    > > attached and chose 'save as' and saved it under my desktop. The program
    > > itself is on the website not my computer.
    > >
    > > Once it 'installed,' it did not create a new directory nor install any
    > > icons. It was a 'certificate' update on a websiteI use
    > >
    > > Since I 'deleted' the installer file and there is 'no' program attached,
    > > does that mean that I will have to install it again the next time I visit
    > > the
    > > website or will that website 'recognize' that it 'was' installed?
    > >
    > > Thanks!
    > >
    > >> 3. Once a program is installed you can safely delete the install .exe
    > >> file as it won't be used anymore for that program. You should, however,
    > >> keep it on some type of removable device (CD/DVD, External Hard Drive,
    > >> Thumb
    > >> drive) in case you ever want to install the program again. One of the
    > >> most
    > >> common issues posted on some of the Microsoft sites is how to get back
    > >> one
    > >> of the Office downloaded files that he poster has not saved.
    > >>
    > >> .
    > >>

    >
    > If you saved it to the desktop and did not run the installer.exe file the
    > installer program can not and did not download the actual program package
    > from the internet. If in fact you ran the installer program then it
    > installed something somewhere on the computer to tell the website that it
    > was installed similar to a cookie and you should not have to re-download the
    > installer again. Just out of curiosity, what web site is this (provide url
    > please?)
    >
    > .
    >
     

Share This Page