1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IE6 - re-enable "About to view over a secure connection" message

Discussion in 'Internet Explorer' started by Kate, Jan 16, 2010.

  1. Kate

    Kate Flightless Bird

    I inadvertently checked the "Do not show me this message again" box,
    but, as I like to know when I am being re-directed to or from a secure
    site, I would like to re-enable it. Is is possible, please?

    Kate
     
  2. VanguardLH

    VanguardLH Flightless Bird

    Kate wrote:

    > I inadvertently checked the "Do not show me this message again" box,
    > but, as I like to know when I am being re-directed to or from a secure
    > site, I would like to re-enable it. Is is possible, please?


    Have you looked at the settings for the security zone (probably the Internet
    security zone) under which the unidentified web site you are visiting is
    getting rendered?

    My guess, and without a correct and exact copy of the prompt message, is
    that you are visiting sites that contain mixed secure and insecure content.
    You expect to be on a secure page but some of the content is not secured.
    Well, think about it. If any part of the page is not secure than that page
    is NOT secure despite some of it is. Not ALL secure means INSECURE.

    Display mixed content

    That option decides whether you will be prompted when there is mixed content
    (secure + insecure). You can disable showing any insecure content without
    the nuisance of a prompt (which would be the checkbox you selected). Always
    enabling the mixed content means you don't get prompted (warned) when there
    is insecure content on a page where https was used to navigate to that page.
    If you want to be safe, you set this option to Disable. That eliminates any
    insecure content on a secure web page and you don't get nuisanced with a
    prompt to warn you about it. If the page doesn't render fully, well, bitch
    to the site that they are mixing secure and insecure content on what was
    supposed to be a secure web page. It's up to you if you want to lower
    security in your web browser for all sites just because one or a few of them
    screwed up (usually with ads that they proliferate from other domains
    through their web page rather than funnel them through their own server).

    You configured the mixed content option to Prompt (its default setting) but
    obviously the penchant of users would be to say Yes to the prompt to allow
    the mixed content - which means that supposedly secure page is no longer
    secure (but the users aren't told that). Getting the prompt ends up a
    superfluous prompt that is merely a nuisance because users are going to okay
    the rendering of the mixed content page.

    You could add the problematic site(s) into your Trusted Sites security zone
    (assuming that zone is configured for Enable on the mixed content option
    rather than Prompt); however, if you expect a web page to be secure but is
    is not (due to any insecure content), would you really trust them?
     

Share This Page