1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IE 8 Deleting/Clearing Cache

Discussion in 'Internet Explorer' started by batz38, May 8, 2010.

  1. batz38

    batz38 Flightless Bird

    Hello,
    I remember under IE 6 and 7, that when you cleared your Cache and
    deleted internet files that if you were logged onto a site that required a
    login and password like say ESPN, that if you deleted the the cache that when
    you went back to the site you had to log back in. now when I go to
    tools>internet options>under browsing history click on delete: I have
    checked the following:
    Preserve Favorites website data
    Temporary Internet files
    Cookies
    History
    Form data
    InPrivate Filtering data
    Should these all be checked, as I want the websites to keep track of my
    usernames and passwords, but if I clear my cache and such I want to be asked
    to sign back on. Any help would be appreciated. I am also running Windows 7
    Professional. Thanks, Bob
     
  2. VanguardLH

    VanguardLH Flightless Bird

    batz38 wrote:

    > Hello,
    > I remember under IE 6 and 7, that when you cleared your Cache and
    > deleted internet files that if you were logged onto a site that required a
    > login and password like say ESPN, that if you deleted the the cache that when
    > you went back to the site you had to log back in. now when I go to
    > tools>internet options>under browsing history click on delete: I have
    > checked the following:
    > Preserve Favorites website data
    > Temporary Internet files
    > Cookies
    > History
    > Form data
    > InPrivate Filtering data
    > Should these all be checked, as I want the websites to keep track of my
    > usernames and passwords, but if I clear my cache and such I want to be asked
    > to sign back on. Any help would be appreciated. I am also running Windows 7
    > Professional. Thanks, Bob


    If you have the site listed in your Favorites list and if you have the
    Preserve option enabled then, well, you told IE8 to *not* delete the TIF
    files for your Favorites. You need to DISABLE the Preserve option if you
    want the TIF files for your Favorites also purged.
     
  3. batz38

    batz38 Flightless Bird

    "VanguardLH" wrote:

    > batz38 wrote:
    >
    > > Hello,
    > > I remember under IE 6 and 7, that when you cleared your Cache and
    > > deleted internet files that if you were logged onto a site that required a
    > > login and password like say ESPN, that if you deleted the the cache that when
    > > you went back to the site you had to log back in. now when I go to
    > > tools>internet options>under browsing history click on delete: I have
    > > checked the following:
    > > Preserve Favorites website data
    > > Temporary Internet files
    > > Cookies
    > > History
    > > Form data
    > > InPrivate Filtering data
    > > Should these all be checked, as I want the websites to keep track of my
    > > usernames and passwords, but if I clear my cache and such I want to be asked
    > > to sign back on. Any help would be appreciated. I am also running Windows 7
    > > Professional. Thanks, Bob

    >
    > If you have the site listed in your Favorites list and if you have the
    > Preserve option enabled then, well, you told IE8 to *not* delete the TIF
    > files for your Favorites. You need to DISABLE the Preserve option if you
    > want the TIF files for your Favorites also purged.
    > .


    Thanks, I'll give that a try to see if this fixes the issue......
     

Share This Page