1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how many users do I have to have?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by SusanJ, Jul 9, 2010.

  1. SusanJ

    SusanJ Flightless Bird

    I recently had massive virus problems and reloaded XP. Now I'm slowly
    reinstalling my applications, trying to get all my hardware to work, and
    trying to understand a bit more about how XP actually works.

    I'm the only one who uses my computer, and I don't see the need of any more
    than one user. When I look at Documents and Settings now, post-reload, I see:

    Administrator
    All Users
    Default User (grayed-out, as a system file I suppose)
    Susan

    When I look at Documents and Settings from a pre-reload backup, I see:

    Administrator
    All Users
    Default User (grayed-out, as a system file I suppose)
    Owner

    On my newly loaded current setup, can I get rid of my "Susan" user and just
    use "Administrator"? I read somewhere that if I delete a user, I'll have a
    chance to save any files from that user -- is that right? Is there any
    downside to deleting "Susan"? Pre-reload, I thought I just had the one
    Administrator user -- not sure what "Owner" was...

    Thanks for any advice / insight --
     
  2. Bruce Chambers

    Bruce Chambers Flightless Bird

    SusanJ wrote:
    > I recently had massive virus problems and reloaded XP. Now I'm slowly
    > reinstalling my applications, trying to get all my hardware to work, and
    > trying to understand a bit more about how XP actually works.
    >
    > I'm the only one who uses my computer, and I don't see the need of any more
    > than one user. When I look at Documents and Settings now, post-reload, I see:
    >
    > Administrator
    > All Users
    > Default User (grayed-out, as a system file I suppose)
    > Susan
    >
    > When I look at Documents and Settings from a pre-reload backup, I see:
    >
    > Administrator



    Profile for the built-in Administrator account, which cannot be deleted.


    > All Users



    System file used to apply common settings to multiple user accounts,
    should they ever be created.


    > Default User (grayed-out, as a system file I suppose)


    Correct.

    > Owner
    >


    Default user profile created by some OEMs, usually used by the first
    user account created during Windows installation and set up.


    > On my newly loaded current setup, can I get rid of my "Susan" user and just
    > use "Administrator"?



    Not very wise.

    While using a computer with limited privileges isn't the cure-all,
    silver bullet that some claim it to be, any experienced IT professional
    will verify that doing so definitely reduces that amount of damage and
    depth of penetration by the malware. If you get infected/infested while
    running as an administrator, the odds are much greater that any malware
    will be extremely difficult, if not impossible, to remove with formating
    the hard drive and starting anew. The intruding malware will have the
    same privileges to all of the files on your hard drive that you do.

    A technically competent user who is aware of the risks and knows
    how to take proper precautions can usually safely operate with
    administrative privileges; I do so myself. But I certainly don't
    recommend it for the average computer user.

    Secondly, and perhaps most importantly, the built-in Administrator
    account was never intended to be used for day-to-day normal use. The
    standard security practice is to rename the account, set a strong
    password on it, and use it only to create another account for regular
    use, reserving the Administrator account as a "back door" in case
    something corrupts your regular account(s).


    > I read somewhere that if I delete a user, I'll have a
    > chance to save any files from that user -- is that right?


    It's supposed to work that way, but it's be wiser to manually back up
    any data first, just in case.






    --

    Bruce Chambers

    Help us help you:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/555375

    They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary
    safety deserve neither liberty nor safety. ~Benjamin Franklin

    Many people would rather die than think; in fact, most do. ~Bertrand Russell

    The philosopher has never killed any priests, whereas the priest has
    killed a great many philosophers.
    ~ Denis Diderot
     
  3. dadiOH

    dadiOH Flightless Bird

    SusanJ wrote:
    > I recently had massive virus problems and reloaded XP. Now I'm slowly
    > reinstalling my applications, trying to get all my hardware to work,
    > and trying to understand a bit more about how XP actually works.
    >
    > I'm the only one who uses my computer, and I don't see the need of
    > any more than one user. When I look at Documents and Settings now,
    > post-reload, I see:
    >
    > Administrator
    > All Users
    > Default User (grayed-out, as a system file I suppose)
    > Susan
    >
    > When I look at Documents and Settings from a pre-reload backup, I see:
    >
    > Administrator
    > All Users
    > Default User (grayed-out, as a system file I suppose)
    > Owner
    >
    > On my newly loaded current setup, can I get rid of my "Susan" user
    > and just use "Administrator"? I read somewhere that if I delete a
    > user, I'll have a chance to save any files from that user -- is that
    > right? Is there any downside to deleting "Susan"? Pre-reload, I
    > thought I just had the one Administrator user -- not sure what
    > "Owner" was...
    >
    > Thanks for any advice / insight --


    The good folks at Microsoft try their best to save you money by insisting
    you use XP for multiple users. Could they have given users a choice? Sure,
    but they didn't. You have pretty much the minimal, just ignore all the
    useless, superfluous "users".

    --

    dadiOH
    ____________________________

    dadiOH's dandies v3.06...
    ....a help file of info about MP3s, recording from
    LP/cassette and tips & tricks on this and that.
    Get it at http://mysite.verizon.net/xico
     
  4. SusanJ

    SusanJ Flightless Bird

    Thanks, Bruce Chambers & DadiOH.

    I guess I'll keep Susan & be Susan except when being Susan isn't enough :)
    :)

    "SusanJ" wrote:

    > I recently had massive virus problems and reloaded XP. Now I'm slowly
    > reinstalling my applications, trying to get all my hardware to work, and
    > trying to understand a bit more about how XP actually works.
    >
    > I'm the only one who uses my computer, and I don't see the need of any more
    > than one user. When I look at Documents and Settings now, post-reload, I see:
    >
    > Administrator
    > All Users
    > Default User (grayed-out, as a system file I suppose)
    > Susan
    >
    > When I look at Documents and Settings from a pre-reload backup, I see:
    >
    > Administrator
    > All Users
    > Default User (grayed-out, as a system file I suppose)
    > Owner
    >
    > On my newly loaded current setup, can I get rid of my "Susan" user and just
    > use "Administrator"? I read somewhere that if I delete a user, I'll have a
    > chance to save any files from that user -- is that right? Is there any
    > downside to deleting "Susan"? Pre-reload, I thought I just had the one
    > Administrator user -- not sure what "Owner" was...
    >
    > Thanks for any advice / insight --
     

Share This Page