1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Deleting User

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Menno Hershberger, Jul 25, 2010.

  1. Menno Hershberger

    Menno Hershberger Flightless Bird

    I created a new user "Barb" and then deleted "Joe" which was the only other
    account. I chose Delete All Files. However I see the "Joe" folder is still
    there in Documents and Settings along with the new one. Is it safe to
    delete the "Joe" folder?
    (XP Pro SP3)

    --
    --- Long live Fat32! ---
     
  2. Shenan Stanley

    Shenan Stanley Flightless Bird

    Menno Hershberger wrote:
    > I created a new user "Barb" and then deleted "Joe" which was the
    > only other account. I chose Delete All Files. However I see the
    > "Joe" folder is still there in Documents and Settings along with
    > the new one. Is it safe to delete the "Joe" folder?
    > (XP Pro SP3)


    Before you logged in as "Barb", had you logged in as "Joe" without rebooting
    between?

    If you need nothing in the "Joe" folders, it is perfectly safe to delete.

    --
    Shenan Stanley
    MS-MVP
    --
    How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
     
  3. Pegasus [MVP]

    Pegasus [MVP] Flightless Bird

    "Menno Hershberger" <mhersh22@nosuchplace.net> wrote in message
    news:Xns9DC14AB98001butter@wefb973cbe498...
    > I created a new user "Barb" and then deleted "Joe" which was the only
    > other
    > account. I chose Delete All Files. However I see the "Joe" folder is still
    > there in Documents and Settings along with the new one. Is it safe to
    > delete the "Joe" folder?
    > (XP Pro SP3)
    >
    > --


    Yes, it is, unless there are some unsaved data files in that folder.
     
  4. Menno Hershberger

    Menno Hershberger Flightless Bird

    "Shenan Stanley" <newshelper@gmail.com> wrote in
    news:-OO6S9SILLHA.1868@TK2MSFTNGP05.phx.gbl:

    > Menno Hershberger wrote:
    >> I created a new user "Barb" and then deleted "Joe" which was the
    >> only other account. I chose Delete All Files. However I see the
    >> "Joe" folder is still there in Documents and Settings along with
    >> the new one. Is it safe to delete the "Joe" folder?
    >> (XP Pro SP3)

    >
    > Before you logged in as "Barb", had you logged in as "Joe" without
    > rebooting between?


    I was logged in as Joe when I created Barb. Then I logged off and logged
    back in as Barb. In Barb's account I deleted Joe's account. I didn't really
    notice the Joe folder was still there till much later.

    > If you need nothing in the "Joe" folders, it is perfectly safe to
    > delete.


    I did. No problems. Thanks.

    --
    --- Long live Fat32! ---
     
  5. Menno Hershberger

    Menno Hershberger Flightless Bird

    "Pegasus [MVP]" <news@microsoft.com> wrote in
    news:-OY0RCTILLHA.468@TK2MSFTNGP05.phx.gbl:

    >
    >
    > "Menno Hershberger" <mhersh22@nosuchplace.net> wrote in message
    > news:Xns9DC14AB98001butter@wefb973cbe498...
    >> I created a new user "Barb" and then deleted "Joe" which was the only
    >> other
    >> account. I chose Delete All Files. However I see the "Joe" folder is
    >> still there in Documents and Settings along with the new one. Is it
    >> safe to delete the "Joe" folder?
    >> (XP Pro SP3)
    >>
    >> --

    >
    > Yes, it is, unless there are some unsaved data files in that folder.


    OK. Done.
    Thanks.

    --
    --- Long live Fat32! ---
     

Share This Page